Bryony Bakes

In general, I’d say I have a pretty healthy diet. I’ve been vegetarian for over five years now, and it was one of the best things I’ve ever done. It taught me how to cook, taught me to keep an eye on what goes into my food and what goes into my body, and it makes me feel good that I can commit to something for so long.

But that aside, my diet has two requirements that I could just never change. They are:

a) A large amount of fruit and vegetables. Sounds boring, but if I don’t get enough of the fresh stuff I start to feel kind of sluggish and gross.

b) Some kind of sugary, chocolately treat every day. I don’t go overboard, but I do look forward to having a little something, I have a major sweet tooth.

And of course, the best stuff is the stuff you make yourself. I really enjoy cooking when I get the chance, I like finding and trying new recipes. So this week before Uni starts getting hectic I’ve had the kitchen to myself to potter around in. And I wanted to share what I created…

The Healthy

Lentil and Butternut Squash Casserole

This was so amazing, I even wrote the ingredients down so I can make it again. It’s typical of me just sticking anything flavoursome I find in the cupboard in a dish, but this time it worked really well!

If you’re interested, it was lentils, butternut squash, carrots, a tin of tomatoes, a red onion, coriander, paprika, mustard, chilli powder and a cheeky splash of port!

Giant Couscous with Carrots and Peas

Again, made out of what I found in the cupboard, but food like this makes you feel zinging with healthiness!

IMG_7238

And…

The Not-So-Healthy-But-Oh-So-Fun

As well as making pancakes and muffins for breakfast, I have been treating friends to some baking goodies. I wanted an excuse to use the amazing cake decorations Mum bought me for Christmas so I made this delicious monstrosity.

IMG_7234

Why have a normal cake when you can make it blue?!

You’ll get used to everything I make tending to up looking like a six year old made it…

Leave a Reply

